Probate

Probate is the legal process that transfers the legal title of property from the estate of the deceased to their beneficiaries.   During the probate process the executor of your will goes before the courts and indentifies and catalogs all the property you owned, appraises the property, and pays all debts and taxes, proves that the will is valid and legal, and distributes the property according to the instructions of the will.  Probate can be a long, drawn-out legal process, and there are some probate-avoidance plans in place.  Simply speak to your attorney to find out what you can do to avoid probate in your area. 


Click here for a form on items needed for Probate.

New Jersey SURROGATES

Atlantic

James Curcio, Surrogate Phone: (609) 343-2341

Atlantic County Courts Bldg. Fax: (609) 343-2197

1201 Bacharach Blvd.

Atlantic City NJ 08401 E-mail: curcio_james@aclink.org

Bergen

Michael R. Dressler, Surrogate Phone: (201) 646-2252

Bergen County Justice Center Fax: (201) 678-5906

Surrogate's Court 10 Main St.

Room 211

Hackensack, NJ 07601 E-mail: mdressler@co.bergen.nj.us

Burlington

George T. Kotch, Jr., Surrogate Phone: (609) 265-5005

Burlington County Courts Facility Fax: (609) 261-4511

49 Rancocas Road, 1st floor

P.O. Box 6000

Mt. Holly, NJ 08060 E-mail: gkotch@co.burlington.nj.us

Camden

Patricia Egan Jones, Surrogate Phone: (856) 225-7282

Camden County Surrogate Office Fax: (856) 225-7389

Administration Building

600 Market Street

Camden, NJ 08102-1249 E-mail: patjones@camdencounty.com

Cape May

M. Susan Shepard, Esq., Surrogate Phone: (609) 463-6666

Cape May Surrogate Office Fax: (609) 463-6454

9 N. Main St.

Cape May Court House, NJ 08210 E-mail: surrogate@co.cape-may.nj.us

Cumberland

Douglas M. Rainear, Surrogate Phone: (856) 453-4801

Cumberland County Courthouse Fax: (856) 451-7356

60 West Broad St.

Suite A 111

Bridgeton, NJ 08302 E-mail: douglasra@co.cumberland.nj.us

Essex

Theodore N. Stephens, II, Surrogate Phone: (973) 621-4900

Essex County Surrogate Office Fax: (973) 621-2647

465 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.

Hall of Records Room 206

Newark, NJ 07102 E-mail: tstephens@surrogate.essexcountynj.org

Gloucester

Helene M. Reed, Surrogate Phone: (856) 853-3440

Gloucester County Surrogate Bldg. Fax: (856) 853-3311

17 N. Broad St., 1st floor

P.O. Box 177

Woodbury, NJ 08096-7177 E-mail: hreed@co.gloucester.nj.us

Hudson

Donald W. De Leo, Surrogate Phone: (201) 795-6378 Ext. 6321

William Brennan Court House Fax: (201) 795-5488

583 Newark Avenue

First Floor

Jersey City, NJ 07306 E-mail: ddeleo@hcnj.us

Hunterdon

Susan J. Hoffman, Surrogate Phone: (908) 788-1156

Hunterdon County Justice Center Fax: (908) 788-1586

65 Park Avenue

P.O. Box 2900

Flemington, NJ 08822-2900 E-mail: shoffman@co.hunterdon.nj.us

Mercer

Diane Gerofsky, Surrogate Phone: (609) 989-6331

Mercer County Civil Courts Bldg. Fax: (609) 278-1242

175 South Broad Street

P.O. Box 8068

Trenton, NJ 08650 E-mail: dgerofsky@mercercounty.org

Middlesex

Kevin J. Hoagland, Surrogate Phone: (732) 745-3818

Middlesex County Administration Bldg. Fax: (732) 745-3294

75 Bayard Street

P.O. Box 790

New Brunswick, NJ 08903 E-mail: surrogate@co.middlesex.nj.us

Monmouth

Rosemarie D. Peters, Surrogate Phone: (732) 431-7330 x7331

Monmouth County Hall of Records Fax: (732) 303-7656

1 East Main Street

Freehold, NJ 07728 E-mail: rpeters@co.monmouth.nj.us

Morris

John Pecoraro, Surrogate Phone: (973) 285-6491

Administrative & Records Bldg. Fax: (973) 829-8599

5th Floor, Court Street

P.O. Box 900

Morristown, NJ 07963-0900 E-mail: jpecoraro@co.morris.nj.us

SURROGATES

Ocean

Jeffrey W. Moran, Surrogate Phone: (732) 929-2011

Ocean County Courthouse Fax: (732) 506-5087

118 Washington Street

P.O. Box 2191

Toms River, NJ 08754 E-mail: jmoran@co.ocean.nj.us

Passaic

Bernice Toledo, Surrogate Phone: (973) 881-4760 Ext. 208

Passaic County Courthouse Fax: (973) 523-3449

77 Hamilton Street

Paterson, NJ 07505 E-mail: bernicet@passaiccountynj.org

Salem

Nicki A. Burke, Surrogate Phone: (856) 339-8621

Salem County Surrogate's Court Fax: (856) 339-9359

92 Market Street

Salem, NJ 08079 E-mail: nicki.burke@salemcountynj.gov

Somerset

Frank G. Bruno, Surrogate Phone: (908) 231-7005

Somerset County Surrogate's Office Fax: (908) 429-8765

20 Grove Street

P.O. Box 3000

Somerville, NJ 08876 E-mail: bruno@co.somerset.nj.us

Sussex

Gary R. Chiusano, Surrogate Phone: (973) 579-0920

Sussex County Surrogate's Court Fax: (973) 579-0909

3 High Street, Suite 1

Newton, NJ 07860 E-mail: gchiusano@sussex.nj.us

Union

James S. LaCorte, Surrogate Phone: (908) 527-4280

Union County Courthouse Fax: (908) 351-9212

2 Broad Street, 2nd Floor

Elizabeth, NJ 07207 E-mail: jlacorte@ucnj.org

Warren

Kevin O'Neill, Surrogate Phone: (908) 475-6223

Warren County Courthouse Fax: (908) 475-6319

413 Second Street

P.O. Box 900

Belvidere, NJ 07823 E-mail: koneill@co.warren.nj.us